Library Databases By Subject
Biography
- Academic OneFile
Search more than 7,100 full text journals. Indexes more than 14,000 periodicals including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- Academic Search Premier
Search nearly 5,900 full-text journals. Abstracting and indexing for more than 8,500 journals, including 3,500 that are peer-reviewed.
- ArchiveGrid
Search for archival collection descriptions about historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives throughout the world.
- Biography Index Retrospective
Index to biographical materials about more than 300,000 asked-about public figures. Coverage: 1946-1983.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- History Reference Center
History Reference Center is a full text history reference database containing historical encyclopedias, non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies, and full text journals.
- In the First Person
Index to letters, diaries, oral histories, and other personal narratives within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and in Alexander Street databases.
- JSTOR
The JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, & XI Collections provide perpetual archival access to the complete back runs of hundreds of electronic full text journals. However, up to the last three to five years of the issues may not be not included.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic Universe provides full text access to news, business, legal, medical, and reference resources.
- Literary Reference Center Plus
Full text database useful for finding literary criticism, poems, short stories, author biographies, and plot summaries. Includes more than 400 full text journals. Also includes Magill's Literary Annuals and other Magill publications on literature.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Online biographies of 56,000 people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to 2004.
- ProQuest Research Library
Searchable database of over 5,580 periodical titles covering a wide range of academic subjects. Over 4,000 periodicals are full text.
- Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a great place to begin your research. The database searches the indexes of more than 40,000 electronic and print reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.), and it provides links to the full text or to bibliographic citations of articles in these reference works. Essentially this database is an index to the articles in books and ebooks which the Biola Library owns or to which it subscribes.
- WorldCat Local
WorldCat Local is the world's largest catalog, and it provides access to the records of more than one billion items. Through a single search it allows searching of all Biola Library materials--books, ebooks, journals, ejournals, videos, audio, music, etc.--and ranks results by location and by relevancy. It also facilitates the discovery of materials from libraries around the world.
Back to Databases