Library Databases By Subject
- eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)
A multidisciplinary academic collection of more than 133,000 ebooks. Printing is limited to 60 pages. Downloading of an ebook requires the setting up of a personal account and the downloading of Adobe Digital Editions.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Access to more than 16,000 ebooks. Downloading of an ebook requires the setting up of a personal account and the downloading of Adobe Digital Editions. Click on Help for instructions.
- ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)
Access to a collection of more than 150,000 electronic books (ebooks). Users may read books in a web browser, annotate, print, or download for offline reading. More information about Ebook Central is avialable at http://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral/details
- Credo Reference
Online library of more than 620 reference books including dictionaries, encyclopedias and books of quotations.
- Early English Books Online
(EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in the English language from 1473 to 1700.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of more than 1740 electronic reference titles (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.).
- Google Books
An index of books you can preview or read for free.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are about 3.8 million public domain volumes in a growing collection of digitized books and other materials.
- Open Library
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published. Over 1 million free e-books titles available. Download in PDF or other formats to your portable e-reader.
- Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. The archive now includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages, and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.
- Oxford Reference
Access to more than 234 language and subject dictionaries and reference works.
- Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford Scholarship Online offers quick and easy access to the full text of ebooks published by Oxford University Press. The Biola Library collection includes the Oxford ebooks in: religion, philosophy, psychology, literature, and business & management. NOTE: Only "unlocked" titles are available to Biola users. These titles are marked with a green open padlock.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 38,000 free ebooks, including epub books and free kindle books. Download them or read them online.
- Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a great place to begin your research. The database searches the indexes of more than 40,000 electronic and print reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.), and it provides links to the full text or to bibliographic citations of articles in these reference works. Essentially this database is an index to the articles in books and ebooks which the Biola Library owns or to which it subscribes.
- SAGE Knowledge
Search more than 226 encyclopedias and reference books published by SAGE.
- Universal Digital Library
Universal Library is a free-to-read, searchable, growing collection of more than one million books. The goal of the project is to preserve and make freely available all significant literary, artistic, and scientific works of mankind. Includes books in Chinese, Arabic, Persian, and Indian languages.
Back to Databases