Library Databases By Subject
- Literary Reference Center Plus
Full text database useful for finding literary criticism, poems, short stories, author biographies, and plot summaries. Includes more than 400 full text journals. Also includes Magill's Literary Annuals and other Magill publications on literature.
- Literature Criticism Online
The online version of ten sets of literary reference book series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Criticism.
- Humanities Ebook Collection
These titles are offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with thirty-one learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and the Michigan Publishing division at the University of Michigan Library. The goals of this collaboration are to assist scholars in the electronic publication of high-quality works in the humanities, to explore the intellectual possibilities of new media, and to help assure the continued viability of scholarship in today’s changing publishing environment. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present.
- Academic OneFile
Search more than 7,300 full text journals. Indexes more than 14,000 periodicals including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- Academic Search Premier
Search more than 6,100 full-text journals. Abstracting and indexing for more than 13,800 journals, including 12,200 that are peer-reviewed.
- African Writers Series
A collection of over 250 volumes of poetry, prose, and drama by African writers published between 1962 and 2003.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- Early English Books Online
(EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in the English language from 1473 to 1700.
- Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos 24/7. Access is provided to more than 238,500 video clips and 15,500 full-length videos. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system. Films on Demand delivers outstanding digital video ideal for students and faculty through online catalogs, distance-learning courses, and learning management systems.
- Essay and General Literature Index
"Focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film."
- Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective
Index of important journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage from 1907 to 1984.
- Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim World.
The JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, XI, XII, & XIII Collections provide perpetual archival access to the complete back runs of hundreds of electronic full text journals. However, up to the last three to five years of the issues may not be not included.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic Universe provides full text access to news, business, legal, medical, and reference resources.
- Literary Index
The Literary Index is a master index to over 130 literature products published by the Gale Cengage Learning company. Search for authors and titles of literary works. Find complete biographies of authors and critical essays on their writings. Many of these publications can be found in the Reference Collection in the Biola Library.
- Literary Encyclopedia
The Literary Encyclopedia is a reference work written by scholars and university teachers around the world. It is also a unique digital environment designed to integrate current knowledge of literature and culture and facilitate the understanding of historical contexts and connections.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words.
- Parker Library on the Web
The Parker Library is the rare books and manuscripts library of Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. It is known throughout the world due to its invaluable collection of over 600 manuscripts, particularly medieval texts, the majority of which were bequeathed to the College by Archbishop Matthew Parker. The Parker Library on the Web project is a joint venture run by Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, Cambridge University Library and Stanford University Libraries. The main goal of the project is to digitize all of the medieval manuscripts in the Parker Library and to be the first project that seeks to make an entire library publicly accessible on the web.
- ProQuest Research Library
Searchable database of over 6,000 periodical titles covering a wide range of academic subjects. Over 4,600 periodicals are full text.
- Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to full-text articles from current and archival articles from 350+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
- ProQuest Research Companion
Multimedia-based learning modules and interactive tools focused on the key information literacy principles of finding, evaluating, and using information.
- Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a great place to begin your research. The database searches the indexes of more than 40,000 electronic and print reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.), and it provides links to the full text or to bibliographic citations of articles in these reference works. Essentially this database is an index to the articles in books and ebooks which the Biola Library owns or to which it subscribes.
- Twayne's Authors Online
The Twayne's Authors Series delivers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and the development of literary genres.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1969 and 2005.
Back to Databases