Library Databases By Subject
- Bibliography of the History of Art
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is made freely available by the Research Library at the Getty Research Institute. The BHA database covers 1990 to 2007, and it is combined with the International Bibliography of Art which covers 2008 and part of 2009.
Callimachus supports the teaching, learning, and research activities of the member institutions of SCELC. This database includes open access to the digital deposits of these institutions. Access to Callimachus is freely available to the public, encouraging use of the materials by researchers to enhance education and scholarship.
The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of data about the nation's people and economy. Data sets include Population & Housing Census, Economic Census, Census of Governments, American Community Survey, and Economic Indicators. Also includes the Statistical Abstract of the United States, which contains a summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.
- Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA contains metadata records—information describing an item—for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a directory of free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
- ERIC (ED.gov version)
Search the U.S. Department of Education version of the ERIC database.
- Free Theological Journals
Free Theological Journals on the web indexed by ATLA Religion Database.
- Getty Research Portal
Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.
- Google Books
An index of books you can preview or read for free.
- Google Scholar
Search scholarly material, mostly articles, indexed by Google. Some of the material is free.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are about 3.8 million public domain volumes in a growing collection of digitized books and other materials.
- Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. The archive now includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages, and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.
- Open Library
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published. Over 1 million free e-books titles available. Download in PDF or other formats to your portable e-reader.
- Petrucci Music Library
A index of public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge.
- Pew Research Center
From the website: "Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 38,000 free ebooks, including epub books and free kindle books. Download them or read them online.
- PubMed Central
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- Research in Ministry (RIM) Online
An index to Doctor of Ministry (D.Min.) projects from schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS).
- Unbound Bible
The Unbound Bible is a collection of searchable Bibles.
- Universal Digital Library
Universal Library is a free-to-read, searchable, growing collection of more than one million books. The goal of the project is to preserve and make freely available all significant literary, artistic, and scientific works of mankind. Includes books in Chinese, Arabic, Persian, and Indian languages.
WorldCat.org (the free version of WorldCat) allows you to search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can find books, videos, music, and more. WorldCat in FirstSearch provides additional search features.
Back to Databases