Library Databases By Subject
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database provides full text articles from more than 760 journals and indexing for over 4,300 nursing journals and publications.
- Ovid Nursing Journals
Access to 22 full text nursing journals from Ovid.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Search more than 550 scholarly full text journals in nursing and the medical disciplines. Abstracting and indexing of nearly 850 journals.
- Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Index of more than 19,000 sources covering all areas of medicine.
"PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources."
- Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas
Visible Body is a 3D interactive atlas of anatomical structures and animations. Biola Library patrons have access to the following modules: Human Anatomy Atlas --Muscle Premium --Skeleton Premium --Physiology Animations --Heart & Circulatory Premium. Please note that the following two modules are unavailable: Anatomy & Physiology, Anatomy & Function
- Academic OneFile
Search more than 7,300 full text journals. Indexes more than 14,000 periodicals including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- Academic Search Premier
Search more than 6,100 full-text journals. Abstracting and indexing for more than 13,800 journals, including 12,200 that are peer-reviewed.
- Primal Pictures 3D Human Anatomy for Communication Disorders
This innovative and medically accurate interactive 3D atlas and clinical reference is perfect for speech language pathology and communication disorders educators, students and practitioners. Featuring a comprehensive selection of 3D views covering key body systems and visually stunning head and neck views, this resource is complemented by a wealth of multimedia clinical content covering swallowing, phonetics and many commonly presenting disorders. (from publisher's website)
- Alt HealthWatch
Alternative health database providing full text articles from more than 140 publications.
- Cambridge Journals Online
Access to full text articles in 221 journals published by Cambridge University Press.
- Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos 24/7. Access is provided to more than 238,500 video clips and 15,500 full-length videos. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system. Films on Demand delivers outstanding digital video ideal for students and faculty through online catalogs, distance-learning courses, and learning management systems.
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Provides indexing of current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Includes the content of all of the print issues of the Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography (1927-2001).
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments
"Database of measurement instruments comprising the areas of medicine, nursing, public health, allied health, dental medicine, psychology, sociology, communication, and social work."
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides access to nearly 80 full text consumer health magazines.
The JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, XI, XII, & XIII Collections provide perpetual archival access to the complete back runs of hundreds of electronic full text journals. However, up to the last three to five years of the issues may not be not included.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic Universe provides full text access to news, business, legal, medical, and reference resources.
- ProQuest Research Library
Searchable database of over 6,000 periodical titles covering a wide range of academic subjects. Over 4,600 periodicals are full text.
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
- Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a great place to begin your research. The database searches the indexes of more than 40,000 electronic and print reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.), and it provides links to the full text or to bibliographic citations of articles in these reference works. Essentially this database is an index to the articles in books and ebooks which the Biola Library owns or to which it subscribes.
- SAGE Journals
Access to 777 full text scholarly journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
ScienceDirect provides indexing and abstracts for articles from more than 2000 science, technology, and medical journals. The only full text articles that are accessible are for Biola Library journal subscriptions from 1995 to the present. Most of the PDF links in ScienceDirect do not connect to full text articles. Check the Library Catalog or the "Journals A to Z" link to determine if the Biola Library has access to a particular journal through another database.
Complete tables of content, abstracts and full-text articles from more than 650 journals. Please note: Not all items found in this database are accessible online because they have not been purchased by or subscribed to by the Biola Library.
- Web of Science
The Web of Science provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index (2002-Present) and Medline (1950-Present). Create bibliographies with EndNote Web.
- Wiley Online Library
Access to 1,229 full text journals from the Wiley Online Library collection in science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences. Please note: Not all items found in this database are accessible online because they have not been purchased by or subscribed to by the Biola Library.
Back to Databases