Library Databases By Subject
The JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, XI, XII, & XIII Collections provide perpetual archival access to the complete back runs of hundreds of electronic full text journals. However, up to the last three to five years of the issues may not be not included.
- History Reference Center
History Reference Center is a full text history reference database containing historical encyclopedias, non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies, and full text journals.
- Military & Government Collection
Full text articles covering news from all branches of the military and government.
- World Politics Review (Website)
[From worldpoliticsreview.com > about] : World Politics Review provides uncompromising analysis of critical global trends to give policymakers, analysts, academics and readers with a deep interest in international affairs the context they need to have the confidence they want. Written by a network of leading experts and on-the-ground influencers, our substantive content gives you access to comprehensive and detailed perspectives that are as valuable as they are rare. Though strictly nonpartisan with regard to political party affiliation or allegiance, WPR can be broadly described as liberal internationalist, combining a reality-based approach that recognizes the need for all the tools and instruments of statecraft, with a preference for diplomacy and multilateralism in support of a rules- and norms-based global order. TRIAL SUBSCRIPTION--TRIAL ENDS 2/11/2018
- World Politics Review (EBSCOhost)
World Politics Review is a daily, online publication and resource for foreign policy professionals and readers with a serious interest in international politics and foreign affairs. Its original articles are written by a network of more than 400 contributors from around the world, including subject-matter experts from journalism, research organizations, academia, government, and elsewhere. This database currently has thousands of articles in its archives, and produces more than 75,000 words of original content per month. TRIAL DATABASE -- TRIAL ENDS 2/11/2018
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides access to in depth reports on controversial topics, and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles--plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and list of contacts--round out each report.
- Humanities Ebook Collection
These titles are offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with thirty-one learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and the Michigan Publishing division at the University of Michigan Library. The goals of this collaboration are to assist scholars in the electronic publication of high-quality works in the humanities, to explore the intellectual possibilities of new media, and to help assure the continued viability of scholarship in today’s changing publishing environment. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Database covering today's hottest social issues. Contains more than 9,000 pro and con viewpoint articles; nearly 5,000 topic overviews; profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups; and nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs.
- Cambridge Histories Online
Cambridge Histories Online provides access to more than 300 ebooks covering: american history, british history, general history, economic history, religious studies, literary studies, literary studies, political and social theory, language and linguistics, music, theater studies and performing arts, history of the book, philosophy, history of science, and warfare.
- Annals of American History
Over 2,000 primary source documents and 700 pieces of multimedia, which document the history of the United States.
- Pew Research Center
From the website: "Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."
- Encyclopaedia of Islam
"The Encyclopedia of Islam, second edition, sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World."
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- The Times Digital Archive
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
- Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos 24/7. Access is provided to more than 238,500 video clips and 15,500 full-length videos. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system. Films on Demand delivers outstanding digital video ideal for students and faculty through online catalogs, distance-learning courses, and learning management systems.
- Academic OneFile
Search more than 7,300 full text journals. Indexes more than 14,000 periodicals including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- Academic Search Premier
Search more than 6,100 full-text journals. Abstracting and indexing for more than 13,800 journals, including 12,200 that are peer-reviewed.
Search for archival collection descriptions about historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives throughout the world.
- Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture.
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
- Cambridge Journals Online
Access to full text articles in 221 journals published by Cambridge University Press.
- Early English Books Online
(EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in the English language from 1473 to 1700.
- Essay and General Literature Index
"Focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film."
- European Views of Americas: 1493 to 1750
The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
FactCheck.org is a nonprofit and nonpartisan project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. It monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
FedStats provides access to a full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government. Search data from more than 100 agencies on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are about 3.8 million public domain volumes in a growing collection of digitized books and other materials.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective
Index of important journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage from 1907 to 1984.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic Universe provides full text access to news, business, legal, medical, and reference resources.
- Library of Congress: THOMAS
In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress.
- Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to full-text articles from current and archival articles from 350+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
- ProQuest Research Library
Searchable database of over 6,000 periodical titles covering a wide range of academic subjects. Over 4,600 periodicals are full text.
- RAND State Statistics
RAND State Statistics contains nearly 400 Social Science databases and is made up of four sites, each with a specific geographic focus as indicated under Browse on the home page. RAND State Statistics contains nearly 200 databases that cover all 50 U.S. states. RAND California contains these 90 databases plus about 80 detailed databases on California.
- Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a great place to begin your research. The database searches the indexes of more than 40,000 electronic and print reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.), and it provides links to the full text or to bibliographic citations of articles in these reference works. Essentially this database is an index to the articles in books and ebooks which the Biola Library owns or to which it subscribes.
- SAGE Journals
Access to 777 full text scholarly journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Back to Databases