Library Databases By Subject
- Abstracts in Anthropology
Abstracts in Anthropology is the only comprehensive abstracting journal in the field of anthropology, publishing three thousand abstracts per volume which provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics.
- Church Missionary Society Periodicals, Modules I & II
From its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters. This online portal makes available periodicals from the Church Missionary Society Archive, a collection for students, researchers and teachers of missiology, world Christianity and global history.
- Academic OneFile
Search more than 7,300 full text journals. Indexes more than 14,000 periodicals including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- Academic Search Premier
Search more than 6,100 full-text journals. Abstracting and indexing for more than 13,800 journals, including 12,200 that are peer-reviewed.
- African American Historical Serials Collection
The African American Historical Serials Collection features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
- Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos 24/7. Access is provided to more than 238,500 video clips and 15,500 full-length videos. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system. Films on Demand delivers outstanding digital video ideal for students and faculty through online catalogs, distance-learning courses, and learning management systems.
"Aluka is an international collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa."
- Anthropology Plus
The world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the early 1800s to today in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Indexes more than 5,870 sources.
- Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture.
- Cambridge Journals Online
Access to full text articles in 221 journals published by Cambridge University Press.
- eHRAF Archaeology
eHRAF Archaeology is an online cross-cultural database containing information on world's prehistory. This unique, annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
- eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents.
- Ethnographic Video Online
"Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior--more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more."
- Ethnographic Video Online: Volume II
"Alexander Street Anthropology brings together a wide range of streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than 1,800 documentary films and over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives."
The JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, XI, XII, & XIII Collections provide perpetual archival access to the complete back runs of hundreds of electronic full text journals. However, up to the last three to five years of the issues may not be not included.
- Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers
The Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers database presents manuscript, book, and newspaper content in the areas of Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women's rights ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century. The collection draws its content from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project” that seeks to gather lost or rare documents and publications pertinent to Hispanic history and culture.
- Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to full-text articles from current and archival articles from 350+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
- ProQuest Research Library
Searchable database of over 6,000 periodical titles covering a wide range of academic subjects. Over 4,600 periodicals are full text.
- Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a great place to begin your research. The database searches the indexes of more than 40,000 electronic and print reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.), and it provides links to the full text or to bibliographic citations of articles in these reference works. Essentially this database is an index to the articles in books and ebooks which the Biola Library owns or to which it subscribes.
- SAGE Journals
Access to 777 full text scholarly journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
- SocINDEX Full Text
The "world's most comprehensive" sociology research database provides full text access to more than 820 journals dating back to 1908, 830 ebooks, and more than 14,000 conference papers. Cover to cover indexing for more than 1270 journals dating as far back as 1895.
- World Christian Database
"The World Christian Database provides comprehensive statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups."
Back to Databases