Library Databases By Subject
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Database of full text articles from 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. Coverage is from 1894 to the present.
Provides full text PDF access to approximately 32,000 chapters from more than 2,000 books published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other distinguished publishers.
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
PsychiatryOnline.org (POL) offers the most comprehensive online access to psychiatric textbooks, journals, and professional development tools. This all-in-one virtual library provides psychiatrists and mental health professionals with key resources for diagnosis, treatment, research, and professional development. POL includes the DSM Library which provides online access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and Clinical Cases.
- APA Style CENTRAL
APA Style CENTRAL features four integrated but separate centers providing expert resources for every stage of the learning, research, writing, and publishing processes, while promoting optimal habits of scholarship and research. APA Style CENTRAL combines sophisticated learning and teaching tools, writing and content processing technology, and full integration of APA's best-selling Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
- Academic OneFile
Search more than 7,300 full text journals. Indexes more than 14,000 periodicals including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- Academic Search Premier
Search more than 6,100 full-text journals. Abstracting and indexing for more than 13,800 journals, including 12,200 that are peer-reviewed.
- Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos 24/7. Access is provided to more than 238,500 video clips and 15,500 full-length videos. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system. Films on Demand delivers outstanding digital video ideal for students and faculty through online catalogs, distance-learning courses, and learning management systems.
- Cambridge Journals Online
Access to full text articles in 221 journals published by Cambridge University Press.
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Provides indexing of current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Includes the content of all of the print issues of the Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography (1927-2001).
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database provides full text articles from more than 760 journals and indexing for over 4,300 nursing journals and publications.
- DSM Library
The DSM Library provides online access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and Clinical Cases.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide Database
The world's most comprehensive, systematic, and non-evaluative resource of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments
"Database of measurement instruments comprising the areas of medicine, nursing, public health, allied health, dental medicine, psychology, sociology, communication, and social work."
- Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective
Index of important journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage from 1907 to 1984.
The JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, XI, XII, & XIII Collections provide perpetual archival access to the complete back runs of hundreds of electronic full text journals. However, up to the last three to five years of the issues may not be not included.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Tests in Print serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially avaialable tests that are currently in print in the English language.
- Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to full-text articles from current and archival articles from 350+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
- ProQuest Research Library
Searchable database of over 6,000 periodical titles covering a wide range of academic subjects. Over 4,600 periodicals are full text.
"PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources."
- Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a great place to begin your research. The database searches the indexes of more than 40,000 electronic and print reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.), and it provides links to the full text or to bibliographic citations of articles in these reference works. Essentially this database is an index to the articles in books and ebooks which the Biola Library owns or to which it subscribes.
- SAGE Journals
Access to 777 full text scholarly journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
- SocINDEX Full Text
The "world's most comprehensive" sociology research database provides full text access to more than 820 journals dating back to 1908, 830 ebooks, and more than 14,000 conference papers. Cover to cover indexing for more than 1270 journals dating as far back as 1895.
Complete tables of content, abstracts and full-text articles from more than 650 journals. Please note: Not all items found in this database are accessible online because they have not been purchased by or subscribed to by the Biola Library.
Back to Databases