Library Databases By Subject
- Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a great place to begin your research. The database searches the indexes of more than 40,000 electronic and print reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.), and it provides links to the full text or to bibliographic citations of articles in these reference works. Essentially this database is an index to the articles in books and ebooks which the Biola Library owns or to which it subscribes.
- Britannica Online
Online version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and links to more than 300,000 Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias
The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. The OREs cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. TRIAL DATABASE--Trial ends November 8, 2017
- Credo Reference
Online library of more than 620 reference books including dictionaries, encyclopedias and books of quotations.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia covering a wide array of topics.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of more than 1740 electronic reference titles (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.).
- APA Style CENTRAL
APA Style CENTRAL features four integrated but separate centers providing expert resources for every stage of the learning, research, writing, and publishing processes, while promoting optimal habits of scholarship and research. APA Style CENTRAL combines sophisticated learning and teaching tools, writing and content processing technology, and full integration of APA's best-selling Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
- Oxford Reference
Access to more than 234 language and subject dictionaries and reference works.
- SAGE Knowledge
Search more than 226 encyclopedias and reference books published by SAGE.
SPINPlus is comprised of SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network), which provides information on over 40,000 grants representing over 12,000 sponsoring agencies.; GENIUS, which is a resource for locating potential research collaborators; and SMARTS, a funding opportunity notification system. Faculty or staff should contact Kris Wagner (ext. 4551, email@example.com), Biola Director of Foundation Relations, for coordination with seeking grants from various sources.
- Ulrichs Web: Global Serials Directory
Ulrichs Web: Global Serials Directory is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world.
Back to Databases