Library Databases By Subject
The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of data about the nation's people and economy. Data sets include Population & Housing Census, Economic Census, Census of Governments, American Community Survey, and Economic Indicators. Also includes the Statistical Abstract of the United States, which contains a summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
- Association of Religion Data Archives
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
FedStats provides access to a full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government. Search data from more than 100 agencies on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides access to in depth reports on controversial topics, and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles--plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and list of contacts--round out each report.
- Pew Research Center
From the website: "Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."
- Local Labs
Very useful, attractive, and easy-to-use website providing statistics for cities, counties, zip codes, or states.
- National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Database covering today's hottest social issues. Contains more than 9,000 pro and con viewpoint articles; nearly 5,000 topic overviews; profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups; and nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs.
- RAND State Statistics
RAND State Statistics contains nearly 400 Social Science databases and is made up of four sites, each with a specific geographic focus as indicated under Browse on the home page. RAND State Statistics contains nearly 200 databases that cover all 50 U.S. states. RAND California contains these 90 databases plus about 80 detailed databases on California.
Back to Databases