Library Databases By Subject
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion Database indexes journal articles, essays (book chapters), and book reviews in all fields of theological and religious studies. Links to the ATLASerials full text database provide access to more than 292 full text journals.
- Old Testament Abstracts
Abstracts of articles in Old Testament studies covering 1978 to the present.
- New Testament Abstracts
Abstracts of articles in New Testament studies from 1985 to the present. Abstracts from 1956 to 1984 are available only in print.
- Christian Periodical Index
The Association of Christian Librarians produces this index of over 230 publications with title coverage representative of the major doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts
Access to bibliographic citations and abstracts from more than 500 theological journals.
- Oxford Biblical Studies Online
Oxford Biblical Studies Online integrates a collection of Bible texts and supporting works. It includes 5,000 A-Z articles, maps and illustrations, interactive timelines, and a bibliography.
- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1
This collection of monographs from the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) presents more than 15,000 titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions.
- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2
This collection of monographs from the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) consists of nearly 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923. It presents a comprehensive picture of religion in America at the turn of the century.
- Accordance 9
Accordance Bible Software is available on Macintosh computers on the upper level of the library.
- BibleWorks 10
Original languages Bible software program. Only available from within the library. Not available on the Macs.
- Church Missionary Society Periodicals, Modules I & II
From its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters. This online portal makes available periodicals from the Church Missionary Society Archive, a collection for students, researchers and teachers of missiology, world Christianity and global history.
- Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
A resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries, this electronic collection gives researchers access to works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. These works include the theological writings of more than 300 Protestant authors, as well as a wide range of confessional documents, biblical commentaries, polemical treatises, and Bible translations.
- Early English Books Online
(EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in the English language from 1473 to 1700.
- Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam
"The Encyclopedia of Islam, second edition, sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World."
- Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception
The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception offers a comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity.
- Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos 24/7. Access is provided to more than 238,500 video clips and 15,500 full-length videos. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system. Films on Demand delivers outstanding digital video ideal for students and faculty through online catalogs, distance-learning courses, and learning management systems.
- Guide to Social Science & Religion in Periodical Literature
An index of 109 periodicals in the arts, politics, people, sociology, business, philosophy, religion, science, education, and psychology. Covers 1993 to the present. No links to full text articles.
- Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim World.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
Index of more than 220 journals devoted to Jewish history, activity and thought.
- Jewish Studies Source
Jewish Studies Source offers a multidisciplinary view into the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Content within the collection is meant to cover all facets of Judaism and provide context by drawing across multiple areas of study including archaeology, anthropology, area studies, ethnic studies, history, languages, philosophy, political science, religious studies and women’s studies as some examples.
The JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, XI, XII, & XIII Collections provide perpetual archival access to the complete back runs of hundreds of electronic full text journals. However, up to the last three to five years of the issues may not be not included.
- Loeb Classical Library
Founded by James Loeb in 1911, the mission of the Loeb Classical Library® has always been to make Classical Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. The digital Loeb Classical Library extends this mission into the twenty-first century. Harvard University Press is honored to renew James Loeb’s vision of accessibility, and presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
- Patrologia Latina
Comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in AD 200 to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. It is the electronic version of Migne's Patrologia Latina.
- ProQuest Religion
Search 220 full text journals in religion.
- Research in Ministry (RIM) Online
An index to Doctor of Ministry (D.Min.) projects from schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS).
- Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN)
TREN is a library of over 21,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 138 different institutions. TREN also makes available conference papers presented at annual meetings of several academic societies. Downloads of dissertations, theses, and conference papers are available through the TREN e-docs database. Most of the TREN collection from 2000 to the present is available online. After you have found a thesis or dissertation, click on "Add this Digital e-Doc to the Biola University subscription (Download this document now)." The password is "biola".
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
NOTE: All users must now create an individual user account to access all TLG content. "The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG®) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has already collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era."
- Unbound Bible
The Unbound Bible is a collection of searchable Bibles.
- World Christian Database
"The World Christian Database provides comprehensive statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups."
- Academic OneFile
Search more than 7,300 full text journals. Indexes more than 14,000 periodicals including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- Academic Search Premier
Search more than 6,100 full-text journals. Abstracting and indexing for more than 13,800 journals, including 12,200 that are peer-reviewed.
Back to Databases