Liaison Librarian Program

Communication

Every school, selected co-curricular offices, and selected patron constituencies has a liaison librarian who serves as the designated point-of-contact for all library matters. Cultivating clear communication channels between each school,office or constituency and the library leads to vibrant opportunities including navigating the library’s 300 million items, developing research strategies, integrating information literacy concepts within course assignments, selecting new library materials to support curricular needs, and collaborating to develop new solutions.

Collaboration

New strategies and solutions develop through working with a librarian. Liaison librarians welcome the opportunity to collaborate with faculty, administrators, and students through personal communications, participation in departmental or school meetings, presentations, appointments, committee involvement, collaborative projects, curriculum development, social events and exhibits, search committees, and accreditation visits.

Collection Development

Faculty shape how Biola University resources its curriculum through participating in the library’s collection development process. Liaison librarians solicit faculty expertise and input to ensure that appropriate library resources are purchased each year in support of each school’s academic and research programs. As needed, weeding projects rely upon this collaboration to identify items for removal from the library collection. Ongoing communication and collaboration between each school and the library ensures wise stewardship of collection development funds.

Connection

The liaison librarian connects their constituents with relevant library resources and librarians through timely service or referral.

Meet Your Liaison Librarian

Alumni Relations, Transfer Students, First Year Students

Julie Ellis
julie.ellis@biola.edu
x5604

 

 

Cook School of Intercultural Studies

Simon Heres
simon.heres@biola.edu
x5612

 

 

Crowell School of Business

Gregg Geary
gregg.geary@biola.edu
x5605

 

 

Rosemead School of Psychology

Jeremy Labosier
jeremy.labosier@biola.edu
x4532

 

 

School of Education

Stacie Schmidt
stacie.schmidt@biola.edu
x5154

 

 

School of Fine Arts and Communication

John Redford
john.redford@biola.edu
x5613

 

 

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

John Tiffin
john.s.tiffin@biola.edu
x4837

 

 

School of Science, Technology, and Health

Sue Whitehead
sue.whitehead@biola.edu
x5611

 

 

Talbot School of Theology

Juliana Morley
juliana.morley@biola.edu
x5620

 

 

Maximize the Value of Your Liaison Librarian

Include Your Liaison Librarian in Your Meetings

  • Your librarian will better understand your unique needs and opportunities as a result of attending faculty meetings or other relevant departmental meetings.

View Your Liaison Librarian as a Resource

  • Your liaison librarian can connect you with helpful resources and services that you may not be aware of.

Discuss Your Unique Context

  • Develop the liaison relationship to serve your school or program.
  • Explore new dynamics or needs that venture beyond established library services or programs.
  • Talk with your liaison librarian about how the library could best serve you.
Biola University
13800 Biola Ave. La Mirada, CA 90639
1-562-903-6000